RU

Once upon
a time…

there was a Russian Grand Duke who was forced into exile by the Tsar Alexander III. Known as the Grand Duke Michael of Russia, he found refuge in Cannes, with his wife, the Countess Sophie de Torby. In 1891, while he was travelling in Scotland, the Grand-Duke discovered the famous St Andrews Golf Club and its enthralling fairways. Like many aficionados, the Grand-Duke was not indifferent to this original and captivating sport which was on the verge of becoming a real institution. He then decided to create the first golf course under the Mediterranean skies. The Cannes-Mandelieu Old Course was in the process of being realised, with the help of the famous and not less talented golf architect: Harry Shapland Colt, who got right down to the drawing and the tracing of the course.

The Grand-Duke Michael of Russia put all his energy into this project. Between the sea and Siagne River, the site was ideal for this project: a few seaside hectares protected from the sun by huge century-old pine trees, an exceptional place where nature reigns. The “9-hole” or the “Grand Duke” course was the Grand Duke Michael of Russia’s first creation. Since then, Lords, Dukes, Counts, Princes and Kings were eager to discover it. Prince Bertil of Sweden and the King Leopold of Belgium were nominated honourable chairmen. The Duke and Duchess of Windsor came to have tea at the Club House. Jerry Lewis and Sean Connery attended the tournaments.

Someone named Nicolas Popoff was also present for the opening of the Cannes Golf Club graced by the Duchess of Mecklembourg-Schwerin. After the double record of the latter (crossing of the Lerins islands from Mandelieu on board a Bi-Plan Wright, and reaching an altitude of 207 metres), he was made her escort and aide-de-camp.

As an anchorman of a newspaper of the time, he then described it, “The Cannes Golf Club is the most marvellous ever. Its location is admirable and the players who come to practice their favourite sport are among the most renowned in Europe.” Funny scenes resulted thereof back then. Therefore the “five o’clock” time was an excuse to give rein to and allow fun behaviour. Such that when the Grand Duke Michael of Russia had tea after finishing his game every afternoon he would honour it by adding milk which two servers had just milked from a cow brought specifically for this event.

In 1997, the Camerini family became the owner of the site and created the “Old Course”, after Lucien Barrière and Sire Marino Vagliano extended the course from 9 holes to 18.

Today, the “Old Course” offers a surface of 74 hectares planted with 4,000 pine umbrellas and attracts 45,000 players per year. Crossing the Siagne River in a ferryboat during a game represents a unique feature of this course; in winter, the sea breeze blends with the essence of pine and mimosa leaving an unforgettable perfume floating about. In this beautiful setting, the divine is reached by the magnificent Norman-style Club House, very well under the shade of the large pine umbrella which has dominated the roof through the centuries.

Disclaimer

Trading name :  SAS Golf Club de Mandelieu
Headquarters : Golf Old Course
265 route du golf
06210 Mandelieu
FRANCE
Tél. 04 92 97 32 00
Fax  04 93 49 92 90
Mail : contact@golfoldcourse.fr

Legal Status : SAS
Director/Manager : Jean-Stéfan Camérini

 

© 2012 Old Course Golf Club: All reproduction, translation and adaptation rights are reserved for all countries. The law dated 11 March 1957 forbids copies or reproduction destined for the use other than that which is reserved by the copier; any full or partial reproduction, by whichever process, without the agreement of the copier or his successors is illegal and is viewed as counterfeiting, which is punished by articles 425 and following of the Penal Code.

Photo Credits: © 2012 Old Course Golf Club

Website by Gazelle Communication

Plan du site

Home

ИСТОРИЯ ГОЛЬФА
« Old Course »

Великий российский Князь Михаил и его супруга княгиня Софи де Торби, вынужденныe уехать из страны, обосновались в Каннах в XIX веке. В 1891 году во время путешествия по Шотландии они открыли для себя известный в то время гольф-клуб Сент Эндрю. Великий Князь не смог остаться равнодушным и решил создать первое поле для гольфа под средиземноморским небом !

Расположенный между морем и рекой Сиань участок идеально подходил для осуществления этого замысла : несколько гектаров прибрежной земли, защищенных от солнца огромными столетними зонтичными соснами.

Талантливый архитектор полей для гольфа Гарри Шапланд* « нарисовал » и разметил поле « Old Course» Канны-Манделье . А Великий князь направил всю свою энергию на реализацию этого амбициозного проекта! Гольф « 9 лунок » или паркур « Великого Князя » были его первыми творениями!

С того времени лорды, графы, князья, принцы и особы королевской крови спешат побывать здесь.

Как писал журнал той эпохи, « Гольф-клуб в Каннах — настоящая жемчужина Средизимноморья. А его игроки - одни из самых выдающихся в Европе...»

Шведский Принц Бертил и Король Бельгии Леопольд стали почетными Президентами клуба. Граф и графиня Виндзор заходят в Клубхаус выпить чаю. Джерри Льюис и Шон Коннери часто бывает на соревнованиях...

Вместе с герцогиней Мекленбург-Шверинской Гольф-клуб Канн посетил ее верный адъютант Николай Попов, впоследствии ставший обладателем двойного рекорда (перелет из Манделье до Леринских островов на биплане Wright и подъем самолета на высоту 207 метров).
В 1997 семейство Камерини приобретает данный учаcток земли и создает « Old Course ».

Сегодня гольф «Old Course» занимает площадь в 74 гектара, на которой произрастает 4 000 зонтичных сосен и привлекает 45 000 игроков в год.

В этом чудесном пейзаже особенное великолепие приобретает прекрасный клубхаус, построенный в стиле « Норман », надежно защищенный огромной зонтичной сосной, которая возвышается над его крышей сквозь века. Зимой морской бриз приносит незабываемый аромат сосен и мимоз.